Prevent DNS registering additional IPs / General Questions / NetSetMan Support

NetSetMan Support

Search for already answered questions about NetSetMan (Pro) or ask new ones

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-21 14:25

kds_it
Member
Registered: 2016-02-15
Posts: 3

Prevent DNS registering additional IPs

In a windows domain we have the issue that every single additional IP set on a client gets registered in the DNS server (Windows 2008 R2). On Link I read that there is an additional flag called skipassource to prevent the address from being registered in the DNS:

Netsh int ipv4 add address <Interface Name> <ip address> skipassource=true

This works. Is it somehow possible to set this flag with NetSetMan?

Offline

#2 2017-09-21 15:10

NetSetMan Support
Administrator
Registered: 2005-08-06
Posts: 1,878

Re: Prevent DNS registering additional IPs

There is currently no built-in funktionality for this. We will consider adding it.
However, you can use the Script feature to run a command after assigning your IPs to set the skipassource flag for some of them.
Create a Bat-Script in the "After" section:

powershell Set-NetIPAddress -IPAddress 1.2.3.4 -SkipAsSource $True

Check the checkbox to run the script with elevated privileges.
Of course you can add as many lines for as many IPs as you want.

Offline

#3 2018-01-28 11:47

Samron
Member
Registered: 2018-01-17
Posts: 1

Re: Prevent DNS registering additional IPs

ktds_it wrote:

In a windows domain we have the issue that every single additional IP set on a client gets registered in the DNS server (Windows 2008 R2). On Link I read that there is an additional flag called skipassource to prevent the address from being registered in the DNS:

I'm trying to do the same as Kds, but that script doesn't appear to do anything. Am I missing something? Any updates on making this a feature within the software btw?

Last edited by Samron (2020-04-26 11:48)

Offline

#4 2018-01-29 12:35

NetSetMan Support
Administrator
Registered: 2005-08-06
Posts: 1,878

Re: Prevent DNS registering additional IPs

The "-SkipAsSource" parameter is the official way by MS to accomplish this. If it doesn't work in your case for whatever reason, then we probably couldn't change that with our own implementation. We haven't analyzed this parameter in detail, yet, so we don't know what exactly it does internally. The easiest way for us to implement it would be to run this command internally. Of course in that case it wouldn't help you, because the result would be the same as running this script manually.

Samron wrote:

that script doesn't appear to do anything

So, what happens after you run this line manually in cmd? Any result or error message?

You can check the SkipAsSource status for all addresses with this command:

netsh int ipv4 show ipaddresses level=verbose

Offline